The Wanaka Ski and Snowsports Club has announced that during winter 2020 49 Yr 2 -Yr 8 children will each be receiving extra tuition at Cardrona /Treble Cone or  Snowfarm . The money will be paid directly to the program providers to assist the children to improve their snow sports skills.


The 2020 Grassroots award covers all snow sports disciplines. It includes children who want to improve their alpine skiing techniques,  learn more free ski park and pipe skills , improve their free riding techniques , improve their snowboarding skills plus children focussing on nordic ski techniques.


The club has distributed over sixty thousand dollars to primary school aged children through it's Grassroots program since the programs initiation with 5 children in 2013.


A number of WSSC’s 2019 Grassroots children represented NZ in USA and Europe in age group and open competitions for alpine racing, freeskiing and snowboarding. Many of our past Grassroots children have been selected in NZ Development Teams for 2020.

To apply for grassroots funding, please renew your membership to get the link to your Profile Page where you can find the Grassroots Application Link.

2020 Grassroots Athletes

Nova Arnott , Kaitlyn Bagley, Max Bagley, Ruby Bull, Sophie Bull, Nico Burrowes, Jalen Carleton, Madison Chambers, Axel Chandler, Madix Chandler , Brody Davis      , Ellie Davis, Sammy Dulin -Shattky, Will Dulin-Shattky, Jared Ferguson, Dylan Godfrey, Olivia Hein, Riley Hein, Charlie Helmore, Benjamin Jurczyluk, Matthew Jurczyluk, Thomas Jurczyluk, Stella Kearns, Zora Legnavsky, Firn Mactaggart, Laia Mactaggart, Kezik Magill, Zavia Magill, Gabriella McKay, Harriet McKay, Logan Millar, Liam Richards, Harry Rowden, Kazuma Saka, Eva Small, Seb Small, Ben Soper, Sam Soper, Amelia Sramek, Sylvia Trotter, Katrina Wallis, Genevieve Wallis, Isabel Watterson, Mathilda Watterson, Hugo Weatherall, Lincoln Weatherall, Chloe Willmott, Ella Willmott, Daisy Woods